What the Jicama!

In an effort to eat healthier and cleaner I have made a new rule for myself that I will attempt to eat new fruits and vegetables because I normally just  get the same same old produce: broccoli, spinach, carrots, collards. You know, the usual.

Eating a variety of fruits and vegetables is important to overall health because many essential nutrients are plant based, however every produce has it’s own particular nutrients and health benefits . To be able to fully incorporate as many nutrients in your diet as possible, one must eat a variety of natural sources.

Since my new pledge I have tried a few different produce that I never had: bok choy, savoy cabbage, persimmon, guava. Well that brings me to my newest food adventure: the Jicama. When I got it I was like “oh yeah, its like a Mexican radish.”

Image

Well I was wrong, and  just for your information it’s not pronounced Jah-ka-ma like I was calling it, rather Hic-ka-ma. I guess if I ever took Spanish I would know that the /J/ makes an /H/ sound.

The Jicama is actually in the bean family, and is also know as Mexican Yam or Mexican Turnip. It is high in carbohydrates from dietary fiber, and has prebiotic properties from high amount of  fructo-oligosaccharides (this is what makes them sweet.) That means it’s good for your gut by encouraging the beneficial growth of bacteria. Jicama is often eaten raw, which is not what I was thinking at all. I had to WikiHow to eat a Jicama to even begin to understand what I was going to do with this modest little vegetable (or should I say bean?)

I was in luck though because what did I happen to buy today. Six wonderfully ripe and tart limes. So whats the verdict? 

I like it! Its sweet, sort of starchy, very crisp and reminds me of an apple. I tried it with fresh lime juice and chili powder. The only thing that threw me off is that it has an after taste that I can’t pin down. I think it could taste good in a fruit salad with some yogurt and vanilla, play up the sweetness.

Try one and tell me what you think.

2 comments

  1. Lime juice and chili powder sounds like a great idea! I have never purchased a jicama but have had it in salads and fancy veggie trays. I should definitely branch out from the usual fruits and veggies though. 🙂 Thanks for your sweet comment! The dress pattern is the Geranium Dress by Made by Rae. The directions are fabulous. I’ve got my fifth dress cut out and love it!

Leave a Reply

