On The Road Again

My husband does a lot of out of town work. His jobs send him all over the state and Texas is so big that going somewhere in state is just the same as going out of state. Anyway sometimes we go with him. Its fun; we get to stay in nice hotels, free wifi, visit local attractions, shop (I love thrift stores), eat out, swim in the pool and watch cable TV! The kids love it and as long as I can map out a park close to the hotel we are all good to go.

The downside, and this is a major one for me, is that maintaining proper nutrition is very difficult. Without an in-room kitchenette meals consists of starch and carb heavy breakfasts, microwaved lunches and take out dinner. There is a grocery store nearby and I purchased some fruit but after two weeks here, I just feel very sluggish from my dietary deviations.

I am considering next time bringing my blender and juicer with me so that I can enjoy a green smoothie and morning glory juice instead of refined carbs. I don’t have it with me but I did come up with a little shake that could work if you are in a hotl and have a blender.

The items listed below are what was available at the continental breakfast bar.  As a side note, why is it called a Continental breakfast. I mean the continent of North America is pretty big and diverse and I doubt everyone on the Continent eats cereal, juice and toast for breakfast. Anyway I digress.

Continental Breakfast Smoothie

  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 apple
  • 1 tbps peanut butter
  • 1 cup orange juice
  • 2 tbsp instant oatmeal

Combine apple and orange juice in blender until all large peices are blended. Add banana, peanut butter, and oatmeal. Continue to process until smooth and creamy. Add ice if you like and enjoy.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

